The University of Skövde is a government agency sorting under the Department of Education. The vice-chancellor is the head of the agency. The University Board leads the university and is responsible for making sure the agency performs according to official decisions. The vice-chancellor executes the decisions made by the board. The vice-chancellor is supported by the vice-chancellors staff of which the deputy vice chancellor is a member.

At the University there are two faculty boards that has the over all responsibility for quality within education and research respectively.

The faculty board of education, health and society is responsible for the teachers education, healthcare and public health areas. The faculty board of technology and natural science is responsible for information technology, engineering sciences and natural sciences areas.

The Universitys operational activities are organized in to five thematic institutions:

  • The School of Bioscience
  • The School of Business
  • The School of Health and Education
  • The School of Engineering Science
  • The School of Informatics

The Universitys administration consists of eight offices:

  • External relations and communication office
  • Academic affairs student support office
  • University library
  • Estates and facilities office
  • Finance office
  • Human resources office
  • IT services office
  • Executive office